

May 11, 2018

BIRCHCLIFF ENERGY LTD. ANNOUNCES VOTING RESULTS FROM ITS 2018 ANNUAL AND SPECIAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS

Calgary, Alberta – Birchcliff Energy Ltd. ("Birchcliff") (TSX: BIR) is pleased to announce the voting results from its Annual and Special Meeting of Shareholders held on May 10, 2018 (the "**Meeting**"). At the Meeting, shareholders elected all five of the proposed nominees listed in Birchcliff's information circular dated March 28, 2018 (the "**Information Circular**"). In addition, shareholders approved all other matters voted upon at the Meeting.

Birchcliff wishes to extend its sincere thanks to Mr. Larry A. Shaw, who did not stand for re-election at the Meeting and ceased to be a director at the close of the Meeting. Jeff Tonken, Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Birchcliff, stated: "On behalf of Birchcliff, I would like to extend our gratitude to Larry Shaw for his many years of support and commitment as a significant shareholder and director of Birchcliff. As former Chairman of the Board and as a director of Birchcliff since its inception, he has been a patient mentor and a strong leader. Over the course of more than 33 years, he has served as Chairman of the Board of Stampeder Exploration, Big Bear, Case Resources and Birchcliff. His business acumen, leadership, diligence, patience and vision have provided the directors and management of all of these businesses with the confidence and support needed to execute their business plans. I look forward to Mr. Shaw's continued support to myself, the Board of Directors of Birchcliff and our Management Team in the future."

The matters voted upon at the Meeting were discussed in detail in the Information Circular, a copy of which is available on SEDAR at <u>www.sedar.com</u> and on Birchcliff's website at <u>www.birchcliffenergy.com</u>. The voting results for each matter voted upon are set forth in the table below and a copy of the Report of Voting Results is available on SEDAR at <u>www.sedar.com</u>.

Matters	Voted Upon	Outcome of Vote	Votes For	Votes Against or Withheld, as applicable
1. The fixing of the number of directors of Birchcliff to be elected at the Meeting at five (5).		Passed ⁽¹⁾	N/A	N/A
Birch meet	election of the following nominees as directors of cliff to hold office until the close of the next annual ing of shareholders of Birchcliff or until their essor is elected or appointed:			
(a)	Dennis A. Dawson	Elected ⁽²⁾	138,209,574 (93.71%)	9,276,955 (6.29%)
(b)	Debra A. Gerlach	Elected ⁽²⁾	140,201,291 (95.06%)	7,285,238 (4.94%)
(c)	Rebecca J. Morley	Elected ⁽²⁾	139,410,218 (94.52%)	8,076,311 (5.48%)
(d)	James W. Surbey	Elected ⁽²⁾	131,153,032 (88.93%)	16,333,497 (11.07%)
(e)	A. Jeffery Tonken	Elected ⁽²⁾	138,410,260 (93.85%)	9,076,269 (6.15%)

18-06

3. The appointment of KPMG LLP, Chartered Professional Accountants, as the auditors of Birchcliff to hold office until the next annual meeting of shareholders of Birchcliff and to authorize the board of directors to fix their remuneration as such.	Passed ⁽¹⁾	N/A	N/A
 The ordinary resolution to approve the Advance Notice By-Law of Birchcliff relating to the advance notice of nominations of directors, as more particularly described in the Information Circular. 	Passed ⁽²⁾	104,665,918 (70.87%)	43,018,911 (29.13%)

Notes:

(1) The vote was conducted by a show of hands.

(2) The vote was conducted by ballot.

About Birchcliff:

Birchcliff is a Calgary, Alberta based intermediate oil and gas company with operations concentrated within its one core area, the Peace River Arch of Alberta. Birchcliff's common shares and cumulative redeemable preferred shares, Series A and Series C are listed for trading on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbols "BIR", "BIR.PR.A" and "BIR.PR.C", respectively.

For further information, please contact:

Birchcliff Energy Ltd.

Suite 1000, 600 – 3rd Avenue S.W. Calgary, Alberta T2P 0G5 Tel: (403) 261-6401 Fax: (403) 261-6424 Email: <u>info@birchcliffenergy.com</u> www.birchcliffenergy.com Jeff Tonken – President and Chief Executive Officer

Bruno Geremia – Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer